

MEDIA RELEASE April 30, 2010

### **Basketball Victoria 2009 Annual Awards**

On Thursday the 29<sup>th</sup> of April Basketball Victoria celebrated yet another fantastic year of the tireless work and efforts of our players, officials, volunteers and Associations at the 2009 Basketball Victoria Annual Awards Dinner held at Merrimu Receptions.

With over 250 in attendance for the evening, people gathered from across the state to commemorate the achievements of this fantastic sport. Basketball Victoria welcomed the assistance of SEN Radio Host Brett Phillips as MC for the evening, which saw long time Pearls' player Kim Larkin recognised for 16 years playing for her country and Basketball Victoria's major sponsor McDonald's recognised for an outstanding partnership of 25 years.

Australian Opal and Bulleen Boomers player Liz Cambage was awarded the Betty Watson Medal for the 2009 Female Player of the Year, whilst the Alan Hughes Medal for the Male Player of the Year was awarded to Australian Boomer and St Mary's College player Matt Dellavedova.

Bullen-Templestowe Basketball Club took out the award for Association of Year which is presented to the Association who has had an outstanding year in membership development, venue development, efficiency and championship results, whilst the Most Improved Junior Program this year went to Collingwood Basketball Association.

This year saw the introduction of three brand new awards in the area of players with a disability. The Wheelchair Basketball Athlete of the Year was awarded to Dandenong Rangers and Gliders player Leanne Del Toso, whilst the Athlete of the Year with an Intellectual Disability was awarded to Pearls' player Kim Larkin. Gail Dick from Doncaster Basketball Association was awarded the Volunteer of the Year for players with a disability.

Among other awards, basketball representatives from around the state were awarded special service awards for their years of continued service to the sport for achievements of over 15 years, 25 years and 35 years.

A full list of award winners is below.

#### Most Improved Junior Program.

Is awarded to the Association who has seen frowth in their Championship Results, improved their special clinics, school promotions and coaching programs at a domestsic and representative level.

WINNER - Collingwood Basketball Association



## MEDIA RELEASE

April 30, 2010

#### **Best Referee Progam**

Is awarded to the Association who includes regular training, effective supervision, increases referee numbers and improves refereeing standards. WINNER - Knox Basketball Association

#### **Best Regional Story**

WINNER – Adrian Benechich (Knox Leader Newspaper)

#### **Best Regional Photograph**

WINNER - Eugene Hyland (Knox Leader Newspaper)

#### Best Regional Coverage for the 2009 Season

WINNER - Ben Martin of the Colac Herald and Andrew Ware from Latrobe City Energy and **3TR Radio Traralgon** 

#### Association of the Year

Is awarded to the Association who has had an outstanding year in membership development, venue development, and efficiency and championship results. WINNER - Bulleen-Templestowe Basketball Club

#### **Betty Watson Medal - Female Player of the Year**

Awarded to the female player who has made the greatest contribution at state, national and international levels in 2009.

WINNER – Elizabeth Cambage, Bulleen Boomers

#### Alan Hughes Medal - Male Player of the Year

Awarded to the male player who has made the greatest contribution at state, national and international levels in 2009.

WINNER - Matt Dellavedova, Australian Boomers

#### Jack Carter Memorial Award - Administrator of the Year

The selecting the winner of this award aspects relating to the developmental activities, increase in registrations, management skills and facility development are taken into consideration

WINNER - Grant Wallace, Kilsyth Basketball Association

#### Allan Ashe Memorial Award - Volunteer of the Year

Recognises the outstanding efforts and contribution of a volunteer over a significant period of time.

WINNER - Paul McGee of Ballarat Basketball Association and Ian Meddings of Eastern Districts Junior Basketball Association

#### **Domestic Coach of the Year**

Is awarded to the coach who has made a significant contribution throughout the 2009 season.

WINNER - Garry Thomas (Sunbury Basketball Association)

Elite Coach of the Year - Male



# MEDIA RELEASE

April 30, 2010

Is awarded to the coach who has made a significant contribution throughout the 2009 season.

WINNER - Graham Longstaff, Knox Basketball Association

#### Elite Coach of the Year - Female

Is awarded to the coach who has made a significant contribution throughout the 2009 season.

WINNER - Cheryl Chambers, Kilsyth Basketball Association

Male Official of the Year

WINNER - Michael Aylen, Melbourne East Basketball Association.

Female Official of the Year WINNER - Robyn Manhire - Dandenong Basketball Association

Wheelchair Basketball Athlete of the Year WINNER - Leanne Del Toso, Dandenong Basketball Association

Athlete of the Year with an Intellectual Disability WINNER - Kim Larkin, Australian Pearls

#### Volunteer of the Year for Disability Programs

WINNER - Gail Dick, Doncaster Basketball Association

#### Service Awards

#### **15 Year Service Awards**

Murray Sydenham (Southern Peninsula), Tracey Teunnisen (Knox), Bryan Cook (Knox), Peter Asquith (Knox), Wayne Sewell (Knox), Ted Stammers (Mornington), Duncan Palmer (Camberwell), Glenda Kulpa (Mornington), Chris Jannese (Mornington), Sheryl Wolffe (Mornington), Dennis Loughman (Eltham), Ron Houston (Eltham), Warren McLeod (Eltham), Jill Bassett (Eltham), Colin Hart (Eltham), Rachel Morgan (Eltham), Rob Hill (Eltham), Norm Cross (Eltham), Ben Cukier (Eltham), Neil Kulpa (Mornington), Sandra Manhire (Dandenong), Robyn Houghton (Dandenong), Lisa Gordon (Dandenong), Gayle Epskamp (Dandenong), Harry Epskamp (Dandenong), Brett Paxton (Dandenong), Charles Ryan (Dandenong), Anne Arnott (Dandenong), Andrew Manhire (Dandenong), Robyn Manhire (Dandenong), Warren Dawson (Dandenong), Julie George (Bulleen-Templestowe), Michelle Spurrell (Bulleen-Templestowe), Steven Platenik (Bulleen-Templestowe), Chantal Stuttard (Waverley), Jeff Clayton (Waverley), Elizabeth Bullock (Waverley), Graham Scott (Waverley), Andrew Seabrook (Waverley).

#### **25 Year Service Awards**

Allan Wood (Doncaster), Craig Porte (Geelong), Margaret Keen (Knox), Pat Vaughan (Knox), Maree Marchant (Diamond Valley), Lyn McClintock (Diamond Valley), Nicky Simpson (Melbourne Tigers), Kerry Carley (Traralgon), Ron Williams (Dandenong), John Stevens (Waverley), Frances Farmer (Eastern Recreation & Leisure Services), Margaret Harper (Korumburra), Diane McMahon (Melbourne Tigers)

#### **35 Year Service Awards**



## **MEDIA RELEASE**

April 30, 2010

John Holden (Southern Peninsula), June Smith (Korumburra), June Roberts (Korumburra), Jennifer Connolly (Melbourne Tigers), John Paulet (Traralgon), Graeme Lay (Traralgon), Pam Meddings (Doncaster), John Cleeland (Bulleen-Templestowe), Gary Feutrill (Bulleen-Templestowe), Maureen Franklin (Bulleen-Templestowe).

For further information please contact: **Ashley Stewart** Basketball Victoria P: 03 9927 6666 E: <u>ashley.stewart@basketballvictoria.com.au</u>